Culture / TV

Phoebe Bridgers collaborates with The National on the band’s latest album

the national album phoebe bridgers

We've got Google alerts set for more things than we care to admit, and I would estimate around a third of those are allocated around our favourite musicians releasing new music. Well, this just in: not only has The National announced their ninth studio album First Two Pages of Frankenstein, but they've got some very special collaborators too.

Sufjan Stevens appears right off the bat on the first track on the album entitled Once Upon A Poolside, which feels very on brand. Further in Taylor Swift features on The Alcott, meanwhile Phoebe Bridgers collaborated on two songs with the Brooklyn-born band: This Isn't Helping and Your Mind Is Not Your Friend. Once again, the titles fit the maker.

The release of First Two Pages of Frankenstein has been a long time coming. It was originally stalled as The National lead singer, Matt Berninger, had to overcome "a very dark spot where I couldn’t come up with lyrics or melodies at all. Even though we’d always been anxious whenever we were working on a record, this was the first time it ever felt like maybe things really had come to an end".

Although The National has dropped the lead single Tropic Morning News to coincide with the announcement, the album isn't expected to arrive until April 24.

Once it does though, the band is primed to go on a somewhat global tour – sadly, Australia didn't make the list – beginning in May. They've got a handful of opening acts, which includes Patti Smith when the band hits their New York City leg where they will play Madison Square Garden. As for the other openers? Expect performances from Soccer Mommy, the Beths, and Bartees Strange.

The tracklist is as follows:

1. Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens)
2. Eucalyptus
3. New Order T-Shirt
4. This Isn't Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
5. Tropic Morning News
6. Alien
7. The Alcott (feat. Taylor Swift)
8. Grease In Your Hair
9. Ice Machines
10. Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
11. Send For Me

In the meantime, you can listen to Tropic Morning News below.

Stay inspired, follow us.

Image: @phoebebridgers