Fashion / Fashion News

The winners of the 2022 15th Australian Fashion Laureate Awards have been announced

The backdrop to this year's Australian Fashion Laureate announcement looks very different to where we were a year ago when 2021 winners were revealed.

Where last year we were deep in the throws of uncertainty, unsure of when we would resurface, this year, industry leaders gathered harbourside at the Museum of Contemporary Art to hear which brands had been awarded the prestigious 2022 Australian Fashion Laureate awards. The awards recognise emerging and establishing voices at the frontier of Australian Fashion.

The Designer of the Year accolade was awarded to Camilla Freeman-Topper and Marc Freeman for their eponymous brand CAMILLA AND MARC. The Indigenous Designer of the Year award, a category that emerged last year as a celebration and tribute to First Nations Designers, was awarded to Laura Thompson for Clothing the Gaps.

This year's Laureate for lifetime achievement award was granted to the artist Ken Done whose colourful Australiana paintings spanning his career have provided inspiration to up-and-coming designers.

“For fifteen years, the Australian Fashion Laureate has provided an important platform to showcase the depth and expertise of the Australian fashion industry,” stated Natalie Xenita, Vice President-Managing Director of IMG’s Fashion Events and Properties, Asia-Pacific. “It’s a privilege to honour the exceptional talent of today’s winners and nominees and reflect on and celebrate the collective achievements of our industry in the company of esteemed peers.”

Winners were determined by a panel of industry leaders comprised of Australian Fashion Laureate alumni, leading fashion journalists, stylists, communications professionals, and top retail executives.

You can find the full list of winners from the 2022 Australian Fashion Laureate Awards, below.


Designer of the Year

Camilla Freeman-Topper and Marc Freeman, CAMILLA & MARC

Emerging Designer of the Year

Lesleigh Jermanus, ALÉMAIS

Indigenous Designer of the Year

Laura Thompson, Clothing the Gaps

Sustainable Innovation of the Year

Sarah Munro and Robert Sebastian Grynkofki, Sarah and Sebastian

Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership

Leila Naja Hibri

People’s Choice

Rebecca Vallance

Australian Fashion Laureate for Lifetime Achievement

Ken Done


Stay inspired, follow us.

Images: OneTwoThreeFour