Fashion / Fashion News

The winners of the 2021 Australian Fashion Laureate Awards have been announced

Australian fashion laureates 2021

Another remarkable, albeit challenging year in the realm of Australian fashion has been and gone. Despite the uncertainty of ongoing lockdowns, stagnation in production and the throws of navigating a global pandemic; Australian fashion and its key players continued to thrive. Yesterday, some of the industry's most prominent leaders gathered to celebrate exactly that – at the 2021 Australian Fashion Laureate Awards.

The Australian Fashion Laureate Awards have continuously recognised Australia’s exceptional talent; highlighting innovations and conversations shaping the Australian fashion industry and its future. This year was no exception, particularly with the addition of two new award categories in 2021; Indigenous Designer of the Year, to celebrate Australia’s First Nations designers, and the Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership, to recognise leaders who have made outstanding contributions to advancing the position of women in the Australian fashion industry.

“The Australian Fashion Laureate provides an important platform to celebrate the success of Australia’s designers and fashion talent, while demonstrating that our industry’s creativity and connectivity can continue to flourish despite extraordinary challenges,” stated Natalie Xenita, vice president-managing director of IMG’s fashion events and properties, Asia-Pacific.

“In striving for change and innovation, today’s honourees have played a significant role in futureproofing our industry and reinforcing the cultural impact of fashion both within and beyond Australia.”

You can find the full list of winners from the 2021 Australian Fashion Laureate Awards, below.


Designer of the Year

Anna Plunket and Luke Sales, Romance Was BornWINNER

Christopher Esber

Edwina Forest and Adrian Norris, Aje

Sophie Holt, Oroton


Emerging Designer of the Year

Jordan Dalah

Jordan Gogos

Julie Shaw, MAARA Collective

Richard Jarman, COMMASWINNER


Sustainable Innovation of the Year

Emma Jarman and Richard Jarman, COMMAS

James Bartle, Outland Denim

Kit Willow, KITX

Mary-Lou Ryan and Deborah Sams, bassikeWINNER


Indigenous Designer of the Year

Denni Francisco, Ngali

Grace Lillian Lee

Julie Shaw, MAARA Collective – WINNER

Lillardia Briggs-Houston, Ngarru Miim


The People’s Choice Award

Elizabeth Abegg and Isabella Pennefather, Spell – WINNER


Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership

Grace Lillian Lee – WINNER


Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award

Linda Jackson AO – WINNER


Stay inspired, follow us.